Any type of digital marketing material is only as successful as the results that it achieves. For any business that is trying to take content marketing efforts to the next level, measurement is key to understanding the effectiveness of current efforts. How many people are consuming the marketing materials? What is the response of recipients? What is the ROI result? These types of questions and more can be answered when you begin to measure results.
Measuring Marketing Effectiveness
Measuring, and ultimately improving, content marketing efforts will require businesses to gather key data from each type of campaign. This data includes examining the following components:
- Customer Acquisition Cost — Customer acquisition cost refers to the total amount of money that is spent on marketing and sales in order to acquire a customer. For example, if your business spends $100,000 on sales and marketing in a month and adds 100 new customers, then your customer acquisition cost is $1,000. Knowing this figure is imperative to successfully analyzing the effectiveness of marketing materials. It will allow you to more accurately determine the success rate of your entire marketing campaigns. From this macro view, you can then begin to drill down into individual components to gain micro insights into the performance of each type of marketing material.
- Conversion Rate For Marketing Materials — Each marketing material should be designed with a specific conversion rate and goal in mind. For example, an email blast might be designed to convert customers into loyal followers on social media accounts. Conversely, a video marketing campaign might be built to encourage customers to share the word about a new product or service that your company offers. In short, no matter the campaign, in order to measure its effectiveness, you must have a set conversion rate in mind.
- SEO Campaigns, Email Blasts, And Digital Content Marketing — Digital content marketing, such as the audio clips, videos, documents, and images used to promote a certain product or service, should all be built with practical SEO attributes. These characteristics will help you to more easily promote your content to an awaiting audience. Once the content has been published, you will then need to calculate the audience’s response by measuring key metrics, such as: page views; open, bounce, and click through ratings; the number of unique visitors; and the number of sales generated.
Through the above insights, you can more effectively determine what marketing materials are the most effective at generating sales. This knowledge will then empower you to make changes to your marketing materials, so that you can give consumers what they want and subsequently increase sales.